A PROUD HISTORY
Gidea Park College has recently celebrated its centenary, a hundred years of providing an outstanding primary education for the children in the town and surrounding areas. A family owned school, it was originally created by James Edward Parkinson and his wife Jessie, grandparents of the current owners, sisters Niki Molyneux and Annie Parkinson-Curd.
In 1917 with the Great War raging, James and his wife moved south from Scotland. With the ambition to provide the best possible education for the community, the school was opened initially in Hare Hall Lane but within just four years it outgrew this space and moved to its present location, Balgores House.
Balgores House has a rich heritage. Originally housing the Artists Rifles, a volunteer regiment of the British Army, it was also home to the war poet Wilfred Owen – in fact, his former bedroom is now the Headteacher’s office.
Even though the numbers have grown over the years, a sense of ‘family’ runs through the school, creating a closeness that is very special to staff and children and immediately sensed by everyone who visits us.
Read all about it
The Romford Recorder featured a special 10-page article all about the school's centenary in 2017. If you'd like to read it, click here (or on above photograph) to download a copy.